#togetherwecanstopit

Domestic Abuse is a subject that needs highlighting more within society and I think social media is a great way to start.

I saw this on my Twitter feed from my local council

I wanted to get involved and decided to write about my experience of domestic abuse.

When I was 15 I entered into a relationship with a boy who was 2 years older than me. He had the typical bad boy image but towards me he said all the right things and was kind, considerate and caring.

I can’t remember exactly when that all changed but he became more aggressive towards me, he would constantly message me when we were apart, which in the beginning I thought was sweet, but it soon turned to him thinking I was ignoring him if I didn’t message back straight away and he began accusing me of cheating on him.

I did my best to reassure him that I wasn’t and he would say that he was sorry and he was just scared of losing me.

I remember the once us having an argument and in his car and when we pulled up to my house I got out the car and slammed the door, he then shot the car forward to try and run me down.

I never said anything anybody because he made me scared, I was worried that if I told anybody he would hurt me, hurt me more than he had.

He fractured my cheekbone, pinned me up against a wall, said awful things to me that really knocked my confidence. He would constantly put me down about what I was wearing, how I did my hair and makeup, the friends that I had.

It wasn’t always physical, but emotional and mental abuse too.

Abuse is defined as a threat, controlling you, being possessive and or jealous or anything that frightens you. Any incident that is deemed threading behaviour towards you is abuse.

Unfortunately 1 in 4 women and 1 in 6 men in the U.K will be a victim of domestic abuse in their lifetime. There is help out there so I have listed some

Broken Rainbow LGBT Domestic Abuse Helpine

For women experiencing domestic abuse

Mens Advice Line

A Cornish Mum

 

4 thoughts on “#togetherwecanstopit

    1. I know right….. The statistics are stupidly high. It’s just about awareness and letting people know they aren’t alone whether they are men or women x

      Like

    1. I think more needs to be put out there about people’s experiences so that other people can get help and support. We also need to realise that it isn’t just women who suffer at the hands of domestic abuse xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

