New Year, will it really mean a New Me?? 

I’m not one for making New Years Resolutions as I don’t really stick to them. I get half way through the year and realise I haven’t achieved anything that I set out to do, however, this year is different!I’m not nessecarliy making New Years resolutions but i am determined to get a couple of things done. I want to make changes to benefit me and my family, I want to make our lives better. 

Bradley and I have never really had a certain plan for our future and after 6 and a half years of “just winging it” I think it’s about time we started to plan ahead. I guess we never planned a those years ago because we had so much drama for one reason or another that we just had to take it one day at a time. Now our lives are relatively normal and boring it’s easier to look to the future. 

Some of the things I have planned are boring, but they are part of growing up and having a family, like we really need to get our wills in place, which is something that we keep talking about but, for some reason we never seen yo get around to it. I’m not sure if it’s because my situation is a little complicated with my daughter and her biological dad. I’m not sure where to even start when it comes to putting things in place for her if, God forbid anything happened to me. I also think we put it off as we are only 27 and 29 and think we have time on our side but we should both know from past experience e that this isn’t the case. 

I also need to sort my pension out, which again is a boring adult thing to do and it seems such a long time away, seeing as it stands I won’t be retiring until I am 68 years old. The problem is because for most of the last 7 years I have worked part time due to having children I don’t normally earn enough to pay towards my state pension, and I would quite like a nice little pension when I’m old and wrinkly. So it’s time to start paying into my pension at work and hopefully have a nice little nest egg. 

Now the next thing I want to complete this year is driving. I aim to have my test passed by the end of the year, which I am pretty sure I will have done, seeing as I have been driving on and off for the last 11 years. I got my provisional when I was 17, started driving lessons and had a car brought for me. I was doing really well until I turned 18, discovered the pub, alcohol and just hit a point where I wasn’t interested in driving at all. I’m big enough to admit it’s my biggest regret in life, so now is the time to gain my independence and move from a horrible green license to a shiny new pink one. 

As my regular readers know I started slimming world at the beginning of October 2015 and so far the journey is going pretty well. I am aiming to hit my target at the latest by the time Brad turns 30 in August. The slimming world plan is amazing and so easy to follow, it’s going in the right direction and as it stands, I am the lightest I have been in a year. However I really need to up my game with exercise to help boost my weight loss and tone up. I’m not one for going to the gym as I feel too self conscious, plus trying to fit it around work, the girls and brads shifts is near impossible. So my goal is to start using the treadmill at home and also dig out the exercise DVDs too, I’m also going to try to persuade Brad to allow me to purchase a FitBit so that I can track my daily activity. 

So I guess what I am trying to say is just because it’s a New Year doesn’t mean it’s a new me, just an improved version, who is trying to be more organised to make sure that my life goes the way that I want it to. 

7 thoughts on “New Year, will it really mean a New Me?? 

  1. The plan to do a will and start a pension are very sensible, I need to look into a will as well. I am also thinking about life insurance, just in case as I had a nasty shock when my natural mother died and we had to fund the funeral.
    I am loving the slimming world plan too.
    Thanks for sharing with us, Tracey xx #happydiaries

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you have a pretty good plan and goals set there! Good luck and I hope you manage to save that pension pot……which reminds me I really need to sort mine! Thanks for linking up and happy new year! #bestandworst

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m also making it my aim to start my driving lessons again this year – I’m almost 32 and still havent done it!! It always made me so anxious but now I’m a working at home mum, I’m really beginning to wish I could just pop out in the car rather being stuck at home constantly when it rains!! Good luck with yours!! #bestandworst

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

