Beginning of a new chapter.. Primary School Induction 

28th June 2012, was the day I gave birth to my youngest daughter. I remember everything about that day like it was yesterday. 
Now all of a sudden it feels like I have blinked and she is about to turn 4 and start school. I have no idea where the last 4 years have gone. My baby girls is no longer my baby, toddler or even preschooler. babies at school was my previous post about how I felt with Emme going to school being a summer baby. 
I received her induction paperwork for primary school and 2 weeks later she attended her morning session. I literally sat and and sobbed all morning after getting the post that day. I felt so sad that the tiny bundle we bought home, the wobbly little toddler who constantly babbled until she started to form coherent words has somehow got to this age and stage of her life. 
It feels like the end of an era for me as a mum in the sense that I have got her to this point and now I am entrusting a primary school and the educators to teach her everything that I can’t. Don’t get me wrong I trust our chosen primary school 100% that they are fantastic and will do everything they can to teach her. However I can’t help but feel a little apprehensive. 
Having said all that she is now starting the next chapter in her life and that is to grow her social development, learn the foundations that she needs to ensure, she grows up learning everything she needs to continue and thrive through her school years. She is going to continue to gain independence, learn how to make new friends, without being prompted to engage with people. She will realise that routine and structure is an important part of life too. 
She is desperate to be a big girl like her brothers and sister and can’t wait to start school. When I got her from the childminders she was so happy and bouncing around excited to tell me everything that had happened that morning. This really put my mind at ease with how relaxed she was at the whole situation, its clearly she wasn’t phased by any of it. 
In a little over 12 weeks, my daughter is going to be one of the thousands of children up and down the country, in their small jumpers and little shiny shoes starting the next big part of their journey of growing up!

Leave a Reply

