Any open letter to my husband

All those years ago we met in our place of work, both of us had partners and children and we became good friends having things in common. We would have a giggle together, talk about our children, what we had been up to on our days off. Never would I of expected either of us to become single let alone fall for each other.

We made the decision to start seeing each other, it wasn’t easy in the beginning. We came up against a lot of obstacles, mainly our families disagreeing with our decisions and our exes weren’t happy to say the least. We knew it wouldn’t be easy if we are honest, but I don’t think either of us were prepared for just how many hurdles we would have to overcome.

I will hold my hands up and say that in that first year especially I had some very wobbly moments where I didn’t think it was the best idea to be with you. However we worked through the problems, which were mainly caused by other people. We endured 2 years of court just so that we could have proper contact with your children, we lost family who stopped talking to us because of who we had fell in love with. 

Throughout the whole time we stood strong and helped to support one another. We were a shoulder to cry on and somebody to vent our frustrations at. One thing I can say is that we have always worked through the rough patches, as much as at some points we may have wanted to give up. 

Over the last few years things have become much more settled and calm. We experience many more happy times than hard. We have had our beautiful daughter together, experienced a magical wedding day and shared many more highs. 

I fell in love 7 years ago with a kind, considerate, fun loving man who could never fail to make me laugh and brighten up my day. Somebody who has put up with me when I have been the hardest person to live with. You took on my eldest daughter like she was your own, when her own father decided to stop having contact. I am thankful for all that you do for us as a family. I couldn’t ask for a better person to spend my life with. 

I love you Mr Mott always and forever

Leave a Reply

